Who Said it? Hillary Clinton or Anaïs Nin?

Today, I discovered that Hillary Clinton and Anais Nin look quite similar. So I ran with it. You’re welcome.

screen-shot-2016-10-22-at-10-59-34-pm

  1. People living deeply have no fear of death.
  2. I think that if you live long enough, you realize that so much of what happens in life is out of your control, but how you respond to it is in your control.
  3. Women are always subject to criticism if they show too much feeling.
  4. I do make some people uncomfortable, which I’m well aware of.
  5. Life is a process of becoming, a combination of states we have to go through. Where people fail is that they wish to elect a state and remain in it.
  6. I chose a man who compels my strength, who makes enormous demands on me, who does not doubt my courage or my toughness, who does not believe me naive or innocent, who has the courage to treat me like a woman.
  7. Freedom is never granted. It is earned by each generation.
  8. If all of us acted in unison as I act individually there would be no wars and no poverty. I have made myself personally responsible for the fate of every human being who has come my way.
  9. It’s all right for a woman to be, above all, human. I am a woman first of all.
  10. How wrong it is for a woman to expect the man to build the world she wants, rather than to create it herself.
  11. I’m fully comfortable with who I am, what I stand for, and what I’ve always stood for.
  12. I think the world would be a lot better off if more people were to define themselves in terms of their own standards and values and not what other people said or thought about them.
  13. I suppose I could have stayed home and baked cookies and had teas.
  14. When we blindly adopt a religion, a political system, we become automatons. We cease to grow.
  15. When you make a world tolerable for yourself, you make a world tolerable for others.
  16. It is often when night looks darkest, it is often before the fever breaks that one senses the gathering momentum for change, when one feels that resurrection of hope in the midst of despair and apathy.
  17. Everybody feels they have been trespassed upon, and nearly everybody has trespassed on somebody else, maybe not intentionally.
  18. Each contact with a human being is so rare, so precious, one should preserve it.
  19. At the end of the day, you know, love does not happen between two perfect people as much as we would wish.
  20. Shame is the lie someone told you about yourself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Nin
  2. Clinton
  3. Clinton
  4. Clinton
  5. Nin
  6. Nin
  7. Clinton
  8. Nin
  9. Nin
  10. Nin
  11. Clinton
  12. Nin
  13. Clinton
  14. Nin
  15. Nin
  16. Clinton
  17. Clinton
  18. Nin
  19. Clinton
  20. Nin

Leave a Reply

