Expeditions: Writing on my Uncle’s Life

Jeff Lakes and me, his niece 1994

Jeff Lakes and me, his niece 1994

As the final component of my undergraduate degree, I am spending the next year writing my honours thesis. Unlike many theses, which cover victorian or modernist literature, my thesis is also part of my creative writing concentration.

Over the next year, I will be memorializing my uncle, the climber Jeff Lakes’ short life in a book of creative non-fiction. I will be combining prose, poetry, and photography, borrowing from his own accounts as well as those of others.

I have a lot or archival material to work with, but I am always on the hunt for more. If you read this and you knew my uncle in any capacity or have any documents or information, please email me at eevance@ucalgary.ca. I would love to speak with you or obtain any information you might have.

So far, this project has been compelling. I am thrilled to get started this summer.

Jeff with his sister and father, Jennifer and Gerry

Jeff with his sister and father, Jennifer and Gerry

Jeff with his camera

Jeff with his camera

Jeff with his sister and father, Jennifer and Gerry

Jeff with his sister and father, Jennifer and Gerry

2 thoughts on “Expeditions: Writing on my Uncle’s Life

  1. scott says:

    Hi my name is Scott Balfour new Jeff from elementary school and junior hi . I just started thinking about K2 and Jeff read some of the articales he was amazing. Let me know if your still working on your project. Thanks Scott

    Like

Leave a Reply

