Being a Woman Sucks, So I’m Going to Find a Way to make it Suck Less

Image

This is my “natural” makeup look for when my skin decides it is a battleground of stress and hormones. and my go-to natural hair (more on that later).

Image

See, he likes me without makeup! And I like myself a lot more when I’m with him.

I don’t like makeup. My boyfriend doesn’t like makeup. If I’m wearing it because I have crippling acne-induced anxiety, I take it off before we snuggle up in front of the TV because, you know, he likes me for, well me. Not my Body Shop BB Cream or my Prestige Biggest Lashes Mascara. And I want to like me for me too. But I like doing my makeup. I love getting dressed up and contouring my face into perfection and making my eyes pop like Edie Sedgewick’s. I just don’t want to do it every single day, for the rest of my life. 

So, I’ve decided I need to combat this adult acne, my procrastinator’s black circles, and the general cavernous texture of my skin, naturally. How am I doing this? Well, we’re going to experiment with some things. I load my hair up with oil on a daily basis and it always looks, feels, and smells amazing, so why not try it on my face? I also take lots of supplements to try and balance my RIDICULOUS hormones.

Image

Me and my supplement family

All-natural, perfect, moisturizing sea-salt spray:

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1tbs softened or liquid coconut oil
  • 2 tsp conditioner
  • 1tbs seal salt
  • 2 tsp hair gel
  • 1tsp argan oil
  • 1tsp lemon juice

Combine (I use the lemon juice because of it’s lightening effects on blonde hair, so maybe opt out of that if you’re brunette), and heat in microwave for 20 seconds if coconut oil and salt remain solidified. Pour into spray bottle, let cool to room temperature, and spray on wet or dry hair for natural bounce and waves. It’s super conditioning, so spray on ends to combat splits, and avoid your roots if you’re prone to oily hair.

I also work an argan oil treatment into my hair after the shower a couple times a week, and use garnier miracle dry oil (for hair, skin and face) whenever my hair needs a drink. I use an intensely hydrating coconut treatment every once in awhile, and because I damaged my hair so badly by recently turning it green, I also use heat-activated reconstructing milk after I shower so that my hair doesn’t all fall out. 

Hormone-balancing supplements:

  • evening primrose oil (helps with PMS symptoms and a TON of other stuff)
  • vitamin e (also useful in PMS and other girlie problems)
  • maca with ginseng (maca improves hormone balance and immunity, ginseng can improve concentration)
  • bee pollen (helps fight women’s cancers)
  • vitex (chaste berry) (regulates the balance of estrogen and progesterone in the body)
  • calcium (keeps your bones strong, women are more susceptible to osteoporosis, and birth control can increase the risks)
  • magnesium (combats anxiety, helps your body absorb calcium, promotes restful sleep)
  • vitamin d (the happy vitamin! helps combat Seasonal Affective Disorder and depression) 
  • vitamin b12 (energy, endurance, and cognitive function
  • omega 3 fatty-acids (improve cognitive function)
  • wild yam (combats PMS symptoms)
  • ESTROsmart (balances hormones and promotes breast health)
  • StressEase supplements
  • Apple Cider Vinegar (metabolism boosting, clear skin, immune function)
  • iron (because as a skinny and pale nineteen year old I am VERY prone to anemia)
  • Back Cohosh (hormone balancing- a friend of my mum’s SWEARS by it)
  • Decent Multi Vitamin (Woman-specific)
  • Vitamin C (duh)
  • Quiet Life Tablets (to ease anxiety) 

I also swear by Bach Flower Remedies, and Boiron homeopathy. (Rescue remedy and the mood swing supplements).

Of course it is ALWAYS healthier to get your vitamins from your food, but I have to eat on the University meal plan, so supplements it is. (Plus I could never stomach enough stake to fight anemia)Image

Beauty starts from the inside-out, right? So I’m going to flush my body with all of the good things and TRY (i really like sour candy and ramen, okay?) to load it up with the good.

First things first:

  • WATER. I HATE drinking water. But it’s one of the best things for a clear complexion and immune function, so eight (ugh) glasses a day it is)
  • TEA! Okay, I actually love tea. I’m going to try out a daily detox tea once a day to see how it improves my skin and health. I’m also going to try and use my caffeine allowance on green tea instead of espresso.
  • Cut-back on caffeine. As a former barista, I can assure you that my ONE (Yes, ONE!) 16oz espresso drink a day is HELLA impressive. Although I need to start taking into consideration that bottled iced tea also has caffeine. 
  • SLEEP! I’m bad for this. I either sleep too much or too little, because I have this nifty thing called netflix and a full course load. I’m gonna aim for a clean 7 hours. I’ve tried more but I always seem to be even more tired!
  • Smaller meals throughout the day, and keeping track of them. I have an app on my computer for keeping track of food WITHOUT all of the scary-eating-disorder triggering calorie and fat info. So we’ll see. So far today I’ve had half a turkey wrap and a peppermint mocha with extra whip BECAUSE I DESERVE IT.
  • Nuts! Everyone’s always talking about how healthy they are, so I’m gonna see for myself.

 

And Lastly, My magic concoction: I’ve been doing some research, well A LOT of it, and have come up with a recipe for optimal skin-clearing magic drink. I still have to run to the grocery store on my break tomorrow, but here’s the recipe:

  • 1tbs Arrow root 
  • 1tsp Turmeric
  • 4tbs Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 2 tbs ginger
  • 2 green tea bags
  • 2tbs lemon juice
  • 1 tbs honey
  • 16 ounces hot water

Let cool and drink.

Right now my skin care routine consists of a stress-acne cleanser in the morning, moisturizer, eye cream, and bb cream, and exfoliant and prescription acne cream at night. 

I’m just going to start by introducing toner and sunscreen into it, and then I’m going to transition into the Oil Cleansing Method + African Black Soap and a Honey Turmeric Mask.

  • Oil Cleansing Method: Unrefined sunflower oil and a hot towel to cleanse and emu oil for my acne scars
  • African black soap: SUPER cheap, and people swear by it. Great for all-natural acne combat. For $5, totally worth a try.
  • Turmeric and honey mask: To fight inflammation and redness due to acne, stress, and being a white girl in canadian winter

I also aim to exercise more (HAHA right? But seriously) Even if that JUST means doing some squats (because I LOVE my booty) every day or stretching. (Though I’m going to TRY to fit a run into my schedule once a week to start)

Basically, I am SICK AND TIRED of crippling body image issues and I’m SICK of trying out expensive beauty products only for them to not work and go bad under the sink. I’m sick of feeling false because I wear loads of makeup to cover up my acne and I’m DEFINITELY sick of hormone imbalances and mood swings that get in the way of relationships, schoolwork, and general well-being. Being a girl is tough, and my goal is to find a comprehensive way to make it a bit easier to just be me.

I will keep posting updates about this journey, and the usual “I love english!” stuff. So stay tuned. 

xoxo E

 

 

Leave a Reply

