Losing My Virginity to Poetry (Again)

In the wake of the 2011 Spoken Word Festival, I have decided to blog more.

I have also decided to let go of inhibition in my writing.

Put two and two together and suddenly I’m telling you about the piece I just wrote about losing my virginity (and struggling with disordered eating- but that’s not nearly as juicy). I’m not sure how I feel about this particular poem yet- its a performance piece and I fear the audience reactions (god forbid someone I KNOW is in the audience). I feel liberated after writing it, even though as of yet it is still sans nom.

I also wrote an article on the spoken word festival, which will hopefully circulate somewhere in Edmonton, and i’m quite proud of it.

A bit overwhelmed with school, but i’m getting there. Still have a world lit paper to write, and too much math for my liking, but, what can you do?

I presented my self portrait in art class today, blabbed on about Buddhism and lucid dreaming, hopefully bullshitting my way to a decent mark. It was nerve wracking, but I need to get over any nerves I have and GET ON WITH it. The only way I’ll make it as a poet is by putting myself out there, not lying in bed afraid of the world.

Thanks to two lovely americano mistos (x-large, nonfat with sugarfree vanilla syrup and extra foam), I am sleepless. Or maybe that’s just due to a state of hyper-inspiration.

Either way, I’ve got a lot to do before the end of the week, writing-wise, and even more to do school-wise.

I’m going to regret this in the morning.

cleo

Leave a Reply

